Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Lars P. Feld, Director

Lars P. Feld (* 1966) holds the chair for Economic Policy and Constitutional Economics at Albert-Ludwigs-University of Freiburg since 2010 and is the current director of the Walter Eucken Institute.  His research focuses on economic and fiscal policies, the emerging field of New Political Economy, and the economic analysis of law.

After his studies in economics Lars P. Feld graduated from University of St. Gallen in 1999 and qualified for a professorship in 2002.  From 2002 to 2006, he worked as a professor of economics, with a focus on public finance, at Philipps-University Marburg.  From 2006 to 2010 Feld held a similar position at Ruprecht-Karls-University  Heidelberg .  He is a permanent guest professor at the Center for European Economic Research (ZEW) in Mannheim, as well as a member of Leopoldina (the German National Academy of the Sciences), the Kronberger Kreis – scientific council of the think tank Stiftung Marktwirtschaft –, and the Mont Pelerin Society. On November 2nd, 2017 Lars P. Feld was awarded an honorable doctorate degree from the University of Luzern.

Since 2003, Lars P. Feld has been a member of the Scientific Advisors to the Federal Ministry of Finance.  In 2007, he was named an expert to the Bundesrat and Bundestag commission for the modernization of federal financial relations (Federalism Commission II) and contributed as an advisor on the subject of the new German debt brake measures.  In March 2011 Feld was, at the recommendation of the federal government, appointed to the German Council of Economic Experts; in March 2016 he was appointed for another tenure till 2021. In the end of 2013 Lars P. Feld was elected member of the advisory board of the German stability council.

Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Lars P. Feld, Direktor

Lars P. Feld (*1966) hat seit 2010 den Lehrstuhl für Wirtschaftspolitik und Ordnungsökonomik an der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg inne und ist Direktor des Walter Eucken Instituts. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Wirtschaftspolitik, Finanzwissenschaft, Neue Politische Ökonomie und Ökonomische Analyse des Rechts.

Nach dem Studium der Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Universität des Saarlandes wurde Lars P. Feld 1999 an der Universität St. Gallen promoviert und habilitierte sich dort im Jahr 2002. Von 2002 bis 2006 war er Professor für Volkswirtschaftslehre, insbesondere Finanzwissenschaft an der Philipps-Universität Marburg; von 2006 bis 2010 hatte er den gleichnamigen Lehrstuhl an der Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg inne. Lars P. Feld ist ständiger Gastprofessor am Zentrum für Europäische Wirtschaftsforschung (ZEW) in Mannheim sowie Mitglied der Leopoldina (Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften), des Kronberger Kreises und der Mont Pèlerin Society. Am 02. November 2017 wurde Lars Feld von der Universität Luzern die Ehrendoktorwürde verliehen.

Seit 2003 ist Lars P. Feld Mitglied des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats beim Bundesministerium der Finanzen. 2007 wurde er zum Sachverständigen für die Kommission von Bundestag und Bundesrat zur Modernisierung der Bund-Länder-Finanzbeziehungen (Föderalismuskommission II) benannt und wirkte beratend an der neuen deutschen Schuldenbremse mit. Im März 2011 wurde er auf Vorschlag der Bundesregierung durch den Bundespräsidenten in den Sachverständigenrat zur Begutachtung der gesamtwirtschaftlichen Entwicklung berufen; im März 2016 wurde er für eine weitere Amtszeit bis 2021 benannt. Ende 2013 wurde Lars P. Feld in den Beirat des deutschen Stabilitätsrats gewählt.