VfS 2018

Annual Meeting of the Verein für Socialpolitik 2018: Digital Economy

The Annual Meeting 2018 is a cooperation between the Walter Eucken Institut and the Verein für Socialpolitik. It takes place at the University of Freiburg from September 2nd till September 5th.

Local Organisation: Lars P. Feld (Walter Eucken Institut and University of Freiburg)


Registration is possible from May 1st, 2018.


We arranged commitments with several hotels. Please book your room using this link oder via this form. There you also find information about the hotels. The conference contingent is reserved until August 10th, 2018.

For questions please contact:

Freiburg Wirtschaft Touristik und Messe GmbH & Co. KG

Freiburg Convention Bureau

Ms Kerstin Schultheis

Tel.: +49 (0)761 3881 1444

E-Mail: groups[at]fwtm.de

Core Conference: Digital Economy

The rapid progress in computer technology has caused a profound change in both economic and labour relations and led to revolutionary data-driven business concepts. This development entails new problems as well as potential opportunities for the economic policy and regulation. The organisation of the digital economy through politics, society and the economy itself represents one of the most urgent and important challenges of our time.
The confirmed keynote speakers, Google chief economist Hal Varian, Susan Athey from Stanford University and David Parkes from Harvard University, are three of the most renowned researchers and designers in the digital economy. Additionally, we will have a panel on shaping the digital economy, where we expect Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy Peter Altmaier, Heike Schweitzer from the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Peter Cramton from the University of Cologne and Google’s Hal Varian.

Scientific Programme/Core Conference: Axel Ockenfels (Universität Köln)

Open Meeting

From February 1st till March 1st, 2018 presentations and Organised Sessions for the open meeting may be submitted from all fields of economics. The submissions are evaluated by anonymous referees and subsequently selected by the Programme Committee. The decision of acceptance may be expected by May 15th, 2018.

Membership in the Verein für Socialpolitik and acceptance of its code of ethics are required for presenting at the annual conference. After acceptance of the submission, applications for membership.

Programme commitee for contributed papers

  • Chair: Gernot Müller (University of Tübingen)
  • Zeno Enders (University of Heidelberg)
  • Florian Englmaier (LMU Munich)
  • Rainer Haselmann (Goethe-University-Frankfurt)
  • Udo Kreickemeier (TU Dresden)
  • Jürgen Maurer (HEC Lausanne)
  • Dieter Nautz (FU Berlin)
  • Aderonke Osikominu (University of Hohenheim)
  • Nadine Riedel (Ruhr University Bochum)
  • Karl Schlag (University of Vienna)
  • Almuth Scholl (University of Konstanz)