Walter Eucken Institut bei Twitter

Annual Meeting of the Verein für Socialpolitik 2018: Digital Economy

The Annual Meeting 2018 ist a cooperation between the Walter Eucken Institut and the Verein für Socialpolitik. It takes place at the University of Freiburg from September 2nd till September 5th.


Local Organisation: Lars P. Feld (Walter Eucken Institut uand University of Freiburg)




Core Conference: Digital Economy


The rapid progress in computer technology has caused a profound change in both economic and labour relations and led to revolutionary data-driven business concepts. This development entails new problems as well as potential opportunities for the economic policy and regulation. The organisation of the digital economy through politics, society and the economy itself represents one of the most urgent and important challenges of our time.
The confirmed keynote speakers, Google chief economist Hal Varian and Susan Athey from Stanford University, are two of the most renowned researchers and designers in the digital economy. Lars-Hendrik Röller will address issues surrounding the digital economy from the perspective of economic policy and will allow an insight into economic policy consultation on this matter.


Scientific Programme/Core Conference: Axel Ockenfels (University of Cologne)




Open Meeting


From February 1st till March 1st, 2018 presentations and Organised Sessions for the open meeting may be submitted from all fields of economics. The submissions are evaluated by anonymous referees and subsequently selected by the Programme Committee. The decision of acceptance may be expected by May 15th, 2018.

Membership in the Verein für Socialpolitik and acceptance of its code of ethics are required for presenting at the annual conference. After acceptance of the submission, applications for membership.


Programme commitee for contributed papers


  • Chair: Gernot Müller (University of Tübingen) 
  • Zeno Enders (University of Heidelberg)
  • Florian Englmaier (LMU Munich)
  • Rainer Haselmann (Goethe-University-Frankfurt)
  • Udo Kreickemeier (TU Dresden)
  • Jürgen Maurer (HEC Lausanne)
  • Dieter Nautz (FU Berlin)
  • Aderonke Osikominu (University of Hohenheim)
  • Nadine Riedel (Ruhr University Bochum)
  • Karl Schlag (University of Vienna)
  • Almuth Scholl (University of Konstanz)


Albert-Ludwigs-University Freiburg

Platz der Universität

79098 Freiburg




Local Organisation


  • • Sponsoring
  • • Exhibition
  • • Infrastrukture and local issues

Walter Eucken Institut

Goethestraße 10

79100 Freiburg

0761-790 97 0




Further Organisation – VfS


  • • Call for Papers
  • • scientific contributions
  • • presentations
  • • programme
  • • Registrierungen
  • • hotel bookings

Verein für Socialpolitik

Mohrenstraße 59

10117 Berlin





© Walter Eucken Institut